‘Meet the Candidates’ Forum Slated This Evening for May 5 Municipal Races

April 17, 2018

Candidates from three Seminole governmental taxing entities have are scheduled to take part in a free, public forum event this evening.

Hosted by the Seminole Area Chamber of Commerce, a “Meet the Candidates” event is slated to be held at the Seminole High School campus’ Performing Arts Center, 2100 N.W. Ave. D, slated for a 6 p.m. start.

The event is anticipated feature candidates running for the Seminole ISD Board of Trustees (three At-Large positions), Seminole Hospital District Board of Directors (three At-Large positions) and the City of Seminole’s Mayor’s position.

“There are a total of 17 candidates running for various races that affect Seminole and Gaines County this year, and it is our desire that you meet those candidates before the upcoming May 5 election,” said Shelby Concotelli, President/CEO of the Seminole Area Chamber of Commerce.

Concotelli, last week, confirmed that all but three local candidates had confirmed they would be in attendance for Tuesday’s forum.

Similar to a “Meet the Candidates” forum held this past February by the Chamber for county-level offices associated with the March 6 Gaines County Democratic/Republican party primary elections, candidates from each entity’s respective race will have up to three minutes to deliver their political platform to the audience in attendance.

Following the completion of all candidate speeches, the floor will be open for a “Meet and Greet” style format, where patrons may ask pointed questions to any and all candidates.

A total of eight Seminole residents filed for the three available At-Large positions upon the Seminole Hospital District’s Board of Directors.

Those candidates include incumbent seatholders Geoff Gray, James Lavender and Dairold Lambert, along with fellow challengers challengers Kyle Freeman, Sam Kantar, Chad McGehee, Lee Stone and Jay Youngblood.

In the Seminole Hospital District’s “At-Large Director’s” race, the top three vote recipients will earn seats upon the SHD Board of Directors and will serve a three year term upon the board.

Early voting for the Seminole Hospital District’s Board election will be held from Monday, April 23 through Tuesday, May 1 in conjunction with the Seminole Independent School District’s election, according to officials with both governing entities.
Early voting for the SHD/SISD elections will be held at the Seminole ISD Administration Building, 207 S.W. 6th St., from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each business day during the early voting period.

Election day polling for the SHD/SISD elections will be held at the City of Seminole’s Ambassador Room (Old City Hall), 101 E. Ave. A, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Saturday, May 5.

In the Seminole ISD Board Trustee election, three incumbents and four other challengers will square off for three available At-Large Trustee positions. Those incumbents include: David Bergen, Scott Nolen and Kevin Petty. Challengers for the race include: Mike Carter, Trey Duncan, David Stone, and Chad Rosalez.

In the SISD “At-Large Trustee” race, the top three vote recipients will earn seats upon the SISD Board of Trustees and will serve a three year term upon the board.

Incumbent Seminole Mayor Wayne Mixon will face off against challenger John Belcher in the May 5 municipal election process, as the race will be the lone contested seat for the Seminole City Council in the 2018 cycle.

For the Mayor’s race, all eligible voters who reside within the Seminole City Limits will able to cast ballots in the May 5 general election process.

Under the City of Seminole’s charter, the Mayor’s position, the ceremonial top-elected position upon the seven-seat Seminole City Council, serves as the lone “at-large” position upon the municipality’s governmental panel. Like other positions upon the Council, the Mayor’s post is up for election every two years.

Early voting for the City of Seminole’s Mayor election will be held at Seminole’s City Hall from Monday, April 23 through Tuesday, May 1. Early voting hours are from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. from April 23 through April 27, and from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Monday, April 30 and Tuesday, May 1.

Seminole’s City Hall is located at 302 S. Main St.

Election day polling for the City of Seminole’s Mayor’s race will be held in conjunction with the SHD and SISD elections at the Seminole Ambassador room.

Sentinel Staff

May 5, 2018 Municipal Election Candidate Filings
(as of 5 p.m., Friday, Feb. 16, 2018)

Seminole City Council
Mayor: Wayne Mixon (I), John Belcher
Dist. 1, Pl. 2: Lloyd Glass (I)
Dist. 2, Pl. 2: Anna Friessen (I)
Dist. 3, Pl. 2: Whitney Concotelli (I)

Seminole ISD
At Large: Kevin Petty (I), Scott Nolen (I), Trey Duncan, David Stone, Chad Rosalez, David Bergen (I), Mike Carter.

Seminole Hospital District
At Large: James Lavender (I), Dairold Lambert (I); Geoff Gray (I); Chad McGehee; Jay Youngblood; Lee Stone; Kyle Freeman; Sam Kantar

Seagraves ISD
District 6: Brent Falkenberry (I), Aldolfo Cortez
District 7: David Wilson

Seagraves City Council
Mayor: Bobby Bean, Charles Evans (I), Robert Lloyd Vuicich
Dist. 1: Dallas Polyak, Shannon Wadzeck
Dist. 2: Debra Middleton

(I) — denotes incumbent seatholder

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on Google+Email this to someone

Tags: ,

Category: Updates