6 Officially File for Pct. 3 Seat; Filing Deadline Slated for Monday PM

December 11, 2015

Gaines County residents who wish to seek election to one of seven offices up for consideration in the March 2016 party primary process will have until 6 p.m. Monday evening to officially file their intentions, according to officials with both the Gaines County Democratic and Republican parties, as well as the Texas Secretary of State’s Office.

As of 3 p.m. Friday afternoon, Gaines County residents residing within the Precinct 3 boundaries will have a field of six candidates to choose from in the March 1, 2016 Republican Party Primary process.

According to officials with the Gaines County GOP and Gaines County Elections Administration Office, Seminole residents Jevon Cheuvront, Cornelius “Neil” Letkeman, David Murphree, Bryan Reed, Tony Roberson and Darrell Whitfield have officially filed their intentions to seek election to the Pct. 3 seat, currently held by Commissioner Blair Tharp.

Tharp, in early November, confirmed with the Seminole Sentinel he would not be seeking a fourth term of office.

As of presstime Friday, four of the six GOP candidates for the Pct. 3 seat had announced their election intentions with the Seminole Sentinel.

Candidates who have not announced their intentions with the Sentinel, but are wishing to do so, will have until Friday, Dec. 18 to do so.

Gaines County Democratic Chairman Ray Savage again confirmed with the Sentinel that no local Democratic candidates had filed their intentions as of presstime Friday.

Other contested races of local interest include that of the 106th District Attorney’s seat and the 19th U.S. Congressional District seat for Texas.

Other local level positions up for election  in the 2016 process include: Gaines County Pct. 1

Commissioner’s seat, Gaines County Sheriff’s post, Gaines County Attorney’s position, Gaines County Tax Assessor/Collector’s seat, and Gaines County Constable, Pct. 1 post.

According to a Friday afternoon check of the Texas Republican Party’s website, six candidates have filed their intentions to seek election to Texas’ 19th Congressional District seat, currently held by Lubbock Republican Congressman Randy Neugebauer

According to the Texas GOP’s site, Dr. Donald May, Jodey Arrington, Glen Roberson, Greg Garrett, Michael Bob Starr, Derenda D. Warren and John C. Key are all seeking the 19th Congressional District seat, which spans from the western South Plains through a fast portion of the Big Country region of Texas.

Back in mid-September, Neugebauer announced he would not be seeking an eighth term of office. The 19th Congressional Seat race is one of 36 which will be held across the Lone Star State, as part of the federal position’s biennial cycle.

In addition to the 2016 U.S. Presidential election process, Gaines County voters will have a say in the election of various other state offices, including: Texas Railroad Commission, Texas Supreme Court (3 positions) Texas Court of Criminal Appeals (3 positions), and State Board of Education (8 positions), to name a few.

No Democratic filings were reported as of presstime for local and area offices, according to the Texas Democratic Party.

Important Election Process Dates
Gaines County residents wishing to participate in the 2016 election cycle and either need to register to vote or make changes to their voter registration information have until Feb. 1 to complete the task. Those who need to register/make voter information changes may do so with the Gaines County Elections Office, located inside the Gaines County Clerk’s Office, at the Gaines County Courthouse.

Voters wishing to participate by mail-in ballots may begin applying for those ballots on Jan. 1, 2016, according to the Texas Secretary of State’s office. Mail-in ballot requests can be made through the Gaines County Election’s office through Feb. 19th.

Early voting for the March 2016 party primary process will be held from Tuesday, Feb. 19 through Friday, Feb. 26, at two Gaines County locations — the City of Seminole’s Ambassador Room and the Seagraves Community Building.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on Google+Email this to someone

Category: Area News, Updates